Tasmania is an island state, part of the Commonwealth of Australia, located 240 kilometres to the south of the Australian mainland, separated by Bass Strait. The state includes the island of Tasmania, the 26th largest island in the world, and the astonishing number of 334 surrounding islands. The state has a population of 507,626 and is home to a vibrant and growing literary culture.