The Olgas (Kata Tjuta)

The Olgas (now called Kata Tjuta) are a group of large domed rock formations or 'bornhardts' and are located 42km west of Uluru and 450km south west of Alice Springs. In 15 December 1993, a dual naming policy was adopted that allowed official names consisting of both the traditional Aboriginal name and the English name. As a result, Mount Olga was officially renamed to Kata Tjuta / Mount Olga in 2002.