The Newcastle metropolitan area is the second most populated area in the Australian state of New South Wales and it includes most of the Newcastle and Lake Macquarie local government areas. It is the hub of the Greater Newcastle area that includes most parts of the local government areas of the cities of Newcastle, Lake Macquarie, Cessnock, Maitland, and Port Stephens Council. 162 kilometres NNE of Sydney, at the mouth of the Hunter River, it is the predominant city within the Hunter Region. Famous for its coal, Newcastle is the largest coal exporting harbour in the world, exporting over 97 Mt of coal in 2009–10 with plans to expand annual capacity to 180 Mt by 2013. Beyond the city, the Hunter Region possesses large coal deposits. Geologically, the area is located in the central-eastern part of the Sydney basin.